My Blog Rebooted – To Begin…

Posted: March 17, 2014 in New Post

I am not a writer, let’s get that out on the table right away. If you came here to read Pulitzer Prize material or Ernest Hemingway, might I suggest the The Washington Post or “The Sun Also Rises”. I do not possess the skills of a good writer. Good writers have the gifts of style and form, a gift of painting pictures with words. I have none of that. What I do have is a great deal of frustration and anger about the injustice, hypocrisy,  and callousness there is in the world, and in my country in particular. These span many topics and many groups, and here on my blog I will, from time to time, release my frustration for all to read or none to read, it doesn’t matter. What does matter is that I don’t keep my rage to myself, but rather release it in words. If one other person reads this blog and smiles, or nods, or in someway finds a kindred soul with whom to relate, so much the better.

To begin, I dislike conservatives, and the Republican party that they call home. If you are a conservative, then we have started off on the wrong foot, because I do not like you at all. It’s just a gut reaction, nothing personal. If you are a liberal or a Democrat, I may like you, but it is not certain. You have a lot to prove to me. Yes, I am being judgmental, so sue me, but you have disappointed me in the past and offer no promise for the future.

So why do I dislike conservatives? Well, that’s easy. You’re an easy lot to dislike. You favor money over honor, corporate profit over people, and power over compassion. In short, you are lousy human beings. Harsh? Not harsh enough. Painting with too broad a brush? I just wish the brush was broad enough to paint you from my consciousness. But you persist like fleas on a hairy dog, slowly sucking the blood from your host and leaving nothing but your droppings as your contribution to humanity.

Case in point: Paul Ryan, the conservatives’ idea of a policy wonk and Ayn Rand’s idea of a hero. A self proclaimed conservative thinker, he likes to pretend that he brings new ideas to the table, ideas that will help the poor, heal the sick, and guarantee a balanced budget, all in the name of compassionate conservatism and Christian values. So how does he stack up to the injustice, hypocrisy, and callousness I see in this country, and his party in particular? Lets take a look.

Paul Ryan wants to privatize Social Security, voucherize Medicare, and dismantle the social safety net of the New Deal and Great Society. You see, he doesn’t see these programs as a safety net, he sees them as a “hammock”. Well, the problem with his hammock is that the lazy ones lying in it are his constituents. You know, the Wall Street Gang who used fabricated instruments to drive our economy to its knees; The oil interests who deny the fouling of our planet and hate environmental friendly regulation that cuts into their profit; The reckless corporations who want the freedom to offer inferior products, free from liability when they injury or kill, and free from the burden of paying their fair share of taxes.  Yes, the conservatives little cow eyed Paul Ryan would cut aid to hungry children, take Medicare away from the old and infirm, and strip away all the humanity a government should represent, all in the name of a balanced budget and lower taxes for the wealthy. Unjust? I would proffer immoral.

And how about hypocrisy? At the age of 16, after his father tragically passed away at the age of 55,  Paul Ryan received Social Security benefits until the age of 18. Those benefits helped him pay for college, something he may not have been able to afford otherwise. Yet his budget would cut those same benefits to others, and privatize the program for the profit of Wall Street. Hypocrite? You bet.

And how about callousness? Well, let’s look at how Paul Ryan sees poverty in our country. To quote our compassionate Ayn Rand Fanboy, he claims that poverty is largely a product of a “tailspin of culture, in our inner cities in particular, of men not working and just generations of men not even thinking about working or learning the value and the culture of work.” “So there’s a real culture problem here,” Ryan continued, “that has to be dealt with.” So there you have it. Poverty is a choice of lifestyle, specifically minority lifestyle. If you just will yourself to be wealthy (and white, I suppose) it will happen. In the mean time, give back your food stamps and let your children search for food in dumpsters. How’s that for callousness?

So there you have it, the first example of why I dislike conservatives and my first poorly written rant. If you like it, you can leave a comment and I am happy you enjoyed. If you didn’t like it, please don’t comment because I hate rejection and am really not interested in contrary opinions anyway. Have a great week!

Comments
  1. Tell it like it is. The Truth ROCKS! I’m looking forward to more truth telling posts like this one.

  2. franciemryl says:

    I agree, conservatives suck the life out of all that is wonderful about life in Amerc

  3. franciemryl says:

    America! Keep on ranting, Joe!

Leave a Reply

